Special Programs

 

 

Bridges After School Program - Academics and Enrichments

  • Grade level: 2-5

  • How to participate: Teachers make recommendations based on student academic needs. Limited to 50 students.

  • Takes place: October-December; February-May

  • Point of Contact: Lisa Hairston-Jones lisa_hairston-jones@hcpss.org

 

Chorus

  • Grade level: 4, 5

  • How to participate: Open to all interested students. (Students are able to join during the month of September only)

  • Takes place: Entire school year

  • Point of Contact: Megan Heavner megan_heavner@hcpss.org

 

Gifted and Talented Curriculum Extension Units

  • Grade level: 1-5

  • How to participate: Teachers make recommendations and selections based on student’s academic performance and their participation in talent spotting lessons.

  • Takes place: Entire school year

  • Points of Contact: Tara DiVenti; Laine Malcotti  tara_diventi@hcpss.org ; marolene_malcotti@hcpss.org

 

Gifted and Talented Interest Seminars

  • Grade level: 2-5

  • How to participate: Open to all interested students. (The selected seminar has to be added to student academic schedule.)

  • Takes place: Entire school year

  • Points of Contact: Tara DiVenti; Laine Malcotti ​ tara_diventi@hcpss.org marolene_malcotti@hcpss.org 

 

Jump Rope for Heart

  • Grade-level: All grades

  • How to participate: Open to all interested students.

  • Takes place: Winter

  • Point of Contact: Jamie Berry jamie_berry@hcpss.org

 

Safety Patrol

  • Grade level: 5

  • How to participate: Open to all interested students. Students must fill out an application and be selected.

  • Takes place: Entire school year

  • Point of Contact: Jamie Berry jamie_berry@hcpss.org

 

Simulated Congressional Hearings (SCH)

  • Grade level: 5

  • How to Participate: Manditory for all students

  • Takes place: End of year

  • Point of Contact: Aja Clanton, Grade 5 ITL aja_clanton@hcpss.org 

 

Strings

  • Grade level: 3-5

  • How to participate: Open to all interested students. Students are able to join during the month of September only

  • Takes place: Entire school year

  • Point of Contact: Sarah Lahan sarah_lahan@hcpss.org

 

Student Voice

  • Grade level: 4,5

  • How to participate: Application Process facilitated by School Counselor.  

  • Takes place: TBD

  • Point of Contact: Krissy Rainer, School Counselor Kristina_Rainer@hcpss.org

 

Swansfield School Spelling Bee

  • Grade level: 4,5

  • How to participate: Interested students participate in team spelling bees in January.

  • Takes place: January​

  • Points of Contact: Tara DiVenti tara_diventi@hcpss.org

 

Unheard Perspectives Black History Expo

 

Young Authors Contest

  • Grade level: 2-5

  • How to participate: Open to all interested students.

  • Takes place: Winter

  • Point of Contact: Keynora Greenwood keynora_greenwood@hcpss.org